Collaborative Blogging, Film Reviews

The Christmas Collab: Icetastrophe

Guys, I would never claim to be brilliant at the sciences, but there are moments of this feature in the Christmas Collab when I had to make a concerted effort to turn my brain off. Absolutely none of this film makes sense and it hurts.

But what of it? Just another day in Jillian & Christa’s Great Blog Collab 2015. This week was my pick, so I am entirely to blame.

The Film:

Icetastrophe; alternately, Christmas Icetastrophe

Where to Watch:

Netflix (US)

The Premise:

A meteorite’s collision with Earth causes an…ICETASTROPHE.  In Canada?

The Uncondensed Version:

I picked this film based on title alone (sorry, Christa) without realizing half of the cast of Continuum is in this movie. Let’s not pretend that makes up for how terrible this film is, but damn…Carlos (Charlie in this feature) is a really good-looking dude. His love interest is Betty from Continuum, who is kind of obsessed with him in the show, and his son is Julian, who will become the mastermind behind an international terrorist organization by 2077.

1
Oh, Carlos. Is there a man in existence with more perfectly groomed facial hair?

BTW, there are some Continuum spoilers in this review, so you may want to stop reading if you plan to watch any or all eps of the show (if you have, PLEASE FREAK OUT WITH ME).

Everyone is basically playing the same role as in Continuum, except maybe Julian (though he does still like to blow things up in this film). He’s also in a really stupid forbidden romantic relationship that somehow still matters even amidst the, uh, icetastrophe. TBH, their families are probably just sick of how insufferable their relationship is—they’re 17(?) and they use the L word. Who does that???

Betty (Alex in this film, but I can’t not think of her as Betty), meanwhile, is a nerd working on her dissertation when she discovers a meteorite heading towards Earth. Her douchey male coworker says it’s probably nothing. Famous last words.

2
ICETASTROPHE.

So the meteorite hits the small town where Carlos and his son live, which causes everything to freeze immediately and exploding ice crystals to erupt from the ground (seriously). As it turns out, the meteorite split in half and changed colors, which means…Carlos and Betty have to find the two halves and put them back together?  What the actual fuck. I’ll be honest—I wasn’t paying the most attention ever to the plot of this godawful film.

I was trying really, REALLY hard not to over-analyze the science of this film, what with:

  1. The meteorite causing instantaneous freezing that everyone had to outrun
  2. Meteorite/ice storm causing a bizarre snow volcano/snow vortex
  3. Ice crystals exploding from within the Earth
  4. Dynamite being used to blow up the snow vortex?
  5. Each half of the meteorite having a different effect and balancing each other out
3
New meaning to the term “polar vortex.”

I KNOW it’s not supposed to make sense, but I needed it to have a teensy bit of logic. IT’S JUST WHO I AM.

The Rating:

2/5 Pink Panther Heads

Scientific flaws aside, plot/characterization/special effects were all pretty terrible.

Plus all of these Continuum characters made me sad that Alec and Kira were absent and also drove home yet again that Carlos and Kira are never going to hook up.  And he didn’t even hook up with Betty either.

I’m sorry this is less of a review of Icetastrophe than me obsessing over Continuum. Whatever, it’s my blog and I’ll cry about Continuum if I want to.

BTW, there’s also a film called Snowmageddon, which is not available for streaming on Netflix. Sadly, that will not be Christa’s next pick unless the gods of Netflix love us (hate us?). The next best thing is to read her review of Icetastrophe here!

4 thoughts on “The Christmas Collab: Icetastrophe”

  1. Oh God! I switched off when they both nearly froze together in the cave. And nobody was worried about chill blains at any time either. The stupidest bit was when they discovered the best way to combat ice was to fight it with fire… yep. I’ve never seen Continuum as you may have gathered from my review or mentioning it at all, but Alex (Betty) has fucked me off so royally she may have spoilt that for me! Brilliant to review, horrific to watch. Same time next week?! I’m thinking something horror based but we’ll see what Netflix throws up! Love yooooooooooooooooo xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Alex/Betty is less of an idiot in Continuum, and she has a pretty minor role. I am OBSESSED with Continuum, but I will ALWAYS watch time travel shows.
      Lots of Carlos scenes in the show, and he does take off his shirt a few times. Not nearly enough, though. 😉
      I wish I could say this film was a beautiful mess, but it was just an awful mess. I am pumped for our next one!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

